Deacon Class 8 Instituted to the Ministry of Acolyte

February 13, 2017

Submitted by
Office of Permanent Deacon Formation

Bishop Larry Silva instituted to the Ministry of Acolyte - eleven laymen and candidates of Class 8 to the Order of the Permanent Diaconate on Sunday, February 12, 2017 at the 9:30 am Mass, St. Stephen's Diocesan Center Chapel. The candidates are in their fifth and final year of formation, with the remaining months in 2017, spent in practical training for diaconal ministry before ordination in 2018 to those who are selected.

The candidates and their wives have been meeting one weekend a month since January 2013 at St. Stephen's Diocesan Center, for academic formation by Chaminade University, homiletics lab and meetings with the Class 9 Core Team Leaders. The candidates have completed one year rotations in Prison Ministry and Hospital/Hospice Ministry.

The Office of Permanent Deacon Formation are co-directed by Deacon John Coughlin and Kathleen Coughlin.

Installed were:


Glenn M. Brown

St. Jude


Ricardo M. Burgos

St. John the Baptist, Kalihi


Craig S. Camello

St. Benedict


Andres Emayo, Jr.

Holy Cross, Kalaheo


Raymond L. Lamb

St. John the Baptist, Kalihi


Rafael A. Mendoza

Co-Cathedral St. Theresa


Alfredo Nebre, Jr.

St. Catherine, Kapaa


Jonathan R. Ocampo

Immaculate Conception, Ewa


Christopher S. Ribucan

Holy Rosary, Paia


Gerald E. Streff                                             

St. Jude


David W. Watson

St. Joseph, Hilo

Interested in becoming a deacon?

For more information, visit our web page on Deacon Formation HERE, or contact Deacon John Coughlin at (808) 203-6729,